The church of Dominus Flevit (“The master cried”) in Jerusalem is a beautiful Catholic-Franciscan church, that had been built on the ruins of a Byzantine church, in 1955; to commemorate Jesus’ crying when he looked at Jerusalem and realized that the city is about to lose itself to hatred, self-destruction and violence.
The church is situated on the Mount of Olives, overlooking a marvelous view of Jerusalem.
In addition, a unique cemetery of the first century had been excavated, in the church’s compound.
The shape of the church had deliberately been designed at the shape of tear; to emphasize its meaning.
The church had been designed by the Italian Architect, Antonio Berlucci.
The church is accessible to the handicapped and entrance is free of charge.
Opening hours every day between: 0830-1700
It is advised to call before arrival